Skip to content ↓

The Foundation Stage

Welcome to EYFS at St Wilfrid’s

In EYFS, we learn through a range of teacher directed and self-initiated activities which take place both inside and outside our classroom. We focus on creating positive relationships where children feel supported, nurtured, and can become confident, independent learners. We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) which is divided into the following 7 areas of learning:

* Communication and Language

* Literacy

* Mathematics

* Personal, Social, and Emotional Development

* Physical Development

* Expressive Arts

* Understanding the World

All 7 areas of development are inter-connected.

At St Wilfrid’s Catholic Academy, we take part in a discrete daily phonic lesson, where the children learn to identify individual letters and groups of letters and the sounds, they represent to help them to develop their ability to read and write independently. We teach phonics using Bug Club.